Why I’m Not Good at Partying

As much as I would love to say that I am a party girl, I am not.

There is no doubt that I enjoy a rambunctious gathering of underage drinkers as much as the next college student. However, I’ve found over the course of my college career that I like the idea of a party more that I like the party itself.

By this I mean that my favorite parts of partying are

1.) getting ready for said party and

2.) leaving it.

You see, getting all dolled up is one of my favorite things in the world. And it’s even better when I have an excuse other than “I’m leaving the house today. I should probably put clothes on.”

Then there is the factor that I am getting all dolled up with my girlfriends and we are all talking about who should where what lipstick and whose skirt is too short and it’s all just a cluster fuck of girliness and I love it. I fucking love. So, sue me!

Jenna Marbles gets it.

Jenna Marbles gets it.

Once my friends and I are properly pampered for the occasion ahead and the required amount of selfies have been taken, we begin the high heeled trek to whatever house the party/show is taking place at. Of course, it’s once we have made our entrance that I begin to lose interest.

This is because, in my experience, you cannot actually socialize at these social events. Either the music is too loud or the person is too drunk or there is simply too much going on.

So, after about fifteen minutes, I start to get fidgety. Everyone else is having loads of fun and I start to focus in on the only other person sitting quietly in a corner. I walk over, strike up a conversation and say “hey, wanna wander?” (which, by the way, is perfectly acceptable and safe in Olympia). Given, if I’m with my boyfriend, then I drag him away to adventure with me. And if I can’t find anyone then I’m like:

Then we meander the streets talking about life, our dreams, or whatever else comes to mind. And it’s wonderful.

My problem is that I don’t like getting drunk for the sake of getting drunk and rubbing up against people I only semi-know. I get drunk and I want to know your life story. I want to know how you got here and why. I want to know what you think of the world and how you developed that opinion. I want to know who you are.

I’m just that deep, man.

But actually, though, I am a writer through and through. And, thus, I am always looking for a story. Not that parties don’t make good stories, but I’d much rather learn about one persons childhood than a bunch of people’s favorite drink.

So I guess I’m just not that good at partying, but I’m really okay with that. I find that I meet really cool people at parties and go on wonderful adventures. But the party is generally only the beginning.

Leave a Reply

